Garden Planning

I have a community garden plot this year. It seems so huge to me at 20 x 32 feet. I am trying to decide if I should plant a bunch of varieties of tomatoes and peppers, or stick to single varieties and plant more of each. For the tomatoes I think I will plant several paste tomatoes for canning, and then one or two of the other varieties I have sitting in my seed collection. I think i’ll pick a few different sweet peppers because there are so many pretty ones.

I think I’m going to try ground cherries this year. I’ve never tasted one before, but they are neat looking. Its supposed to be prolific and good for making jams and pies. The reviews on Bakers Creek’s website are encouraging.

The bees are flying one one hive, I think the other is dead.  I’m going to try to do some swarm management this morning and do  a once over on the dead hive.  First inspection of the year is a bit intimidating!

Leave a Reply

