Bzzz

I checked on the bees Sunday. The swarm is building crazy comb, and I’m doing my best to keep sticking fresh bars between the straight combs, but there is something flowing right now and they are building comb like crazy. I am hoping that as long as I can keep the brood nest straight the rest can be worked to the back and harvested. According to Wikipedia “To produce their wax, bees must consume about eight times as much honey by mass.” I’m not sure how accurate that is, but I do know that producing wax takes a lot of energy, so I”m releuctant to knock down comb unless its completely crooked.

A small chunk did fall off while I was inspecting. Sadly I was forced to crush it and strain out the honey in what may be the worlds smallest crush and strain harvest.

Leave a Reply

