Orchid!

On Sunday I picked up an orchid off the rack of dead plants at Lowes. It looked OK, but had no flowers left on it. Since I know nothing about orchids I didn’t have a lot to go on. I decided to go for it since it was only $7 and I have always wanted an orchid.

IMG_0021

I dug the poor plant out of its puney cermaic tray and found a sad site.

IMG_0024

It was in a pot that had no drain holes and was packed as tight as possible with sphagnum moss. I actually had to get out a garden trowel to lever the moss lose. I cut off all the dead and rotten looking roots. From what I’m reading on orchid forums I’m pondering weather or not its worth getting some rooting hormone to give it a little boost.

Leave a Reply

