Born in the USA

I have a hard time finding gear that was made in the states. I look at my mountain hardware jacket and shirt that I bought 4 or 5 years ago. It was made here. The shirt I bought a few months ago was made in Sri Lanka and the backpack was also made overseas. This brings me to where I stand now. I want new down booties, I LOVE mountain hardware. I look on their website and it says imported (both things I needed and bought out of clearance bins.) I looked at a few other items all imported. This was a bit disappointing to me, but not entirely surprising. On a whim I searched for down booties made here and in my loops I did find a few pairs. Western Mountaineering, Feathered Friends (their website is down right now, but it was working yesterday and I have faith it will come back,) Naunatak, and the non-down Forty Below. I’m just observing that these are out there and have never ordered anything from any of those places, except for back country. I love backcountry.com as they are the brains behind steepandcheap.com. I’m thinking about my options and will probably go with the western mountaineering, or forty below because of the price point. I’m excited to have found some stuff made here (but I would have taken made in Canada) My next challenge is to find some long underwear made in the USA. I’m not holding my breath on that one.

One thought on “Born in the USA

Leave a Reply

