Bees are making progress

The lazy bees have finally decided to make a full comb of honey. Now if we can get to repeat that act a few more times they might make it though the winter.

IMG_2060

The hive is boiling over with bees, and there is a ton of purple loostrife and golden rod for them to chow down on. They should be buckling down and getting to work.

IMG_1993 b

Purple Loostrife actually makes green nectar. I had hoped to see some when I peeked in on Saturday, but it was all golden colored. (I am well aware of how evil purple loostrife is; I don’t feel the need to discuss it here)

IMG_2062

It looks like black pollen packed in the bottom. I’ve read that tulips have very dark pollen, but its rather late in the year for that. I also read that the bees will sometimes pack back coal dust, but where would they find coal around here?

I only looked at the last few bars to see the new comb was being build straight.

IMG_2054

They’re still building away. This is the first comb I’ve seen them drawing out in more then one place at once. The otherones have always grown from one central point.

4 thoughts on “Bees are making progress

  1. Keep the posts coming – they continue to be fascinating reading.

    I’m curious about the black pollen. I will start looking more carefully at my flowers tomorrow to see what might be black inside. Haven’t observed that closely before. (Black-Eyed Susans? Echinachea?) The bees around here are all over the butterfly bush, the sunflowers (those are black!), and they love the oregano and borage which have been flowering for a month or more. Now my raspberries are bearing their second crop so the bees are over on that bush again, too.

    1. There are a ton of sunflowers right now too. All of the pollinators love the raspberries. The hive is actually tucked between the red and black ones; we don’t have enough of each to be a major source. Plus the black ones only produce one crop. They like Echinachea; however I have never seen them on any. They love it when we let our herbs go to flower. Actually the mint we have at the back of our house is always buzzing with bees, wasps and flies. I have never seen a honey bee on our veggies, but the bumble bees have been all over our egg plants.

      Bees prefer to gather all from one source. I have been told you can get some nice varietals by harvesting the combs separately. Someone on ravelry linked me to this forage map: http://honeybeenet.gsfc.nasa.gov/Honeybees/Forage.htm

Leave a Reply

