the Kelly Kettle

I ordered this toy from Ireland and it got here just in time for our trip.

IMG_1205

Its a genius little gadget. Its a double walled kettle in which the water goes between the walls. The middle section actually acts as a chimney. This maximizes the surface area allowing the water to boil very quickly. I didn’t time it when we used it at the crag, but today it boiled water 5 minutes after I put the kettle on the fire. (8 minutes from the time I got the matches out to boiling) I’m quite confident that I can get that faster next time with better choice of fuel and by not having to get the dog part way though my fire starting procedure.

IMG_1206

Leave a Reply

